Turkey Day

November 26, 2009 at 9:24 pm 1 comment

I promised I would be honest in this blog. The thing is called “The Fat Truth”, for goodness sake! I preface with this because I am not proud of the truth today! I chose to eat the traditional too-big turkey, stuffing, potato, bread roll, buttered veggie meal. And a lot of it! So I have not made that change from last year. I went into it thinking “This could be my last feast!”

Now that it’s over, I realize that was my addiction speaking. I saw the turkey, smelled the sage of the stuffing, and was quickly persuaded. I need to employ some defense mechanisms before I even end up in the situation next time.

I am learning, though. Last night, while talking to a good friend on the phone, she mentioned having “one last blowout” for me on Saturday, since I will not be able to drink in a month. I was all for it for a few minutes, but when I hung up the phone, I decided that it was a horrible idea! They already had a “last junk food night” for me a month ago. I’m sure we could make every weekend until the surgery a “last” celebration.

These next few weeks are for preparing my life for the surgery and becoming healthier. I need to remind myself of this. But also be understanding of the mistakes I will make once in awhile.

Entry filed under: Holiday, Thanksgiving, Weight Loss. Tags: , , , , , .

Happy Hour Board games bad for addicts?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. seelieness  |  November 27, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Good on you. Weight loss is also a state of mind and it’s important to prepare yourself mentally as well. I also know that I can’t celebrate with food anymore…just the way it is.
    I hope everything goes well for you and I look forward to your updates.
    http://seelieness.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates


