Board games bad for addicts?

November 28, 2009 at 4:19 pm 2 comments

I had a great Black Friday yesterday! I spent my day at the Mall of America, which sounds awfully American, I’m sure. However, I made myself walk two full floors and a little bit more, which took me (including stopping into a couple shops) about 2.5 hours! I guess I walked about 1.5 miles in that time. A decent workout for someone my size.

Today, I went to LifeTime Fitness to sign up for a membership! I was a member a year ago, but had to quit since my pay was cut 25%. Moving home has freed up a bit of money for it again. During my previous membership I joined and attended Team Weight Loss. It was great to learn the basics and find out how to get a good workout, but in the end I couldn’t handle working out with strangers. Most of them just had a horrible attitude toward working out and the science of it. They tried working their bodies too hard, and complained while doing it! I like being excited about it and motivated, not brought down by my peers’ attitude!

It felt so, so good to get on that treadmill today! I went for a full 1/2 hour, and probably could have gone more. I didn’t though, because I am worried that if I get too overzealous, I may burnout quickly. It’s so nice to go somewhere where it’s just me, working on me, and pampering myself afterwards!

When I got home, my family started playing Settlers of Catan. Here’s a little history to our game playing: My brother, mom and I found a new love for games like Settlers, Puerto Rico and Power Grid. They are long, complicated strategy games. Our tradition used to be to take smoke breaks every half hour, and eat a big take-out meal after we were done.

Since I quit smoking and eating that crap, it’s been strangely excruciating for me to get through a board game! My brother still smokes, so when he heads out for a cig, I am in agony. Also, I am always thinking in the back of my mind “When is dinner? What will we have?”

Needless to say, I bowed out after one heated game of Settlers. It’s crazy what our mind, body and emotions become conditioned to!

Entry filed under: Board Games, Family, Food, Smoking, Weight Loss. Tags: , , , , , , .

Turkey Day Warning: Men may squirm when reading this

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. origamifreak  |  November 30, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I’m having to re-learn how to play board games, too. My latest thing is to chew sugarless gum while everyone else snacks on snacky things, and fold cranes and other things out of the wrappers.

    I was playing Battlestar Galactica a few weeks ago (It’s a lot like Shadows over Camelot – I call it “Shadows over Caprica,”) and ended up making a whole additional FLEET of little gum wrapper vipers. LOL

    Reply
  • 2. nick75675  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    =http://www.pokemontoxic.net/ Ever fancyed playing pokeon like you use to on the gameboy ? now you can with http://www.pokemontoxic.net/ Pokemon Toxic Rpg is 1 of the biggest and fastest growing Rpg’s on the ent Join 2 day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


