Cheese. Yum.

January 8, 2010 at 3:43 pm 3 comments

It has been a very emotional, draining, boring week for me. I have had many worries and speculations. I think all of the turmoil stems from the fact that I have been stuck here, in isolation, for 8 or more days. It is waay too cold to even think about taking walks outside (-16 degree windchill today).

Like I mentioned in my last post, I have been on a clear liquid diet. I have been limited to water, Powerade Zero, and diluted cranberry juice. It actually was not too difficult until these past couple days. When my mom started cooking. Man, can that woman cook. The aromas were very tough to handle! But, I stuck to my guns and got through it!

The bubble in my chest went away, thankfully. However, in place of that, I then started feeling pain in the left side of my chest whenever I took a breath. I called my sister (a hospitalist) and she said not to worry. I also found a great forum, ThinnerTimes, where a member told me that the surgeon has to do a lot of rough maneuvering on that side. So now, even though I am sore, I feel much better about that.

Last night, I felt amazing. So amazing, that I was a bit wired, apparently. I could not fall asleep for the life of me! So, I accidentally slept through my alarm this morning. I missed my post-op appointment by a slim ten minutes and had to reschedule for next week. I kind of went into panic mode, because that was supposed to be the time they let me go to full liquids! So I called them back later and got approval to go ahead regardless. YAY! I had cheddar soup for lunch and it was sooooo heavenly. You have no idea. It was like I had died and gone to heaven.

My mom and I also went to the gym today for the first time post-op. I had to keep the treadmill at 1.5 mph or below. This really surprised and frustrated me, since I had finally gotten to 3.0 mph pre-op! But my abdomen was killing me. It felt like my stomach was doing all the work.

So week one post-surgery: I am alive. I am hopeful. I am emotional and have tear stained eyes. I am strong!

Entry filed under: Food, Gastric Bypass, Laparoscopy, Roux en Y, surgery, Weight Loss, Working Out.

The Good, Bad and Ugly

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BlueRaspberry  |  January 16, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Can I tell you a trick I learn’t when I was on a liquid diet for nine months? It probably sounds a little gross, but believe me it works. It works on the basis that taste is down to more than what you put in your mouth.
    When you need a different taste, or smell, or you just must have something or you will die, dont even think of eating it. Rub some of ‘it’ on your hands, whatever it is, you can soon wash them, and then put your hands right up to your nose, and smell in deep. Take great a great lungful or ten, its amazing but the ‘craving’ goes away – try it, I kid you not!

    BR.

    Reply
  • 2. seelieness  |  January 19, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Back away from that cheese and come blog some more 🙂
    How are you going?

    Reply
  • 3. seelieness  |  February 10, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Where are you? Hope you are healthy and doing well. Please return and tell us what has been happening with you on this journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates


